Kathryn Gibbs Davis
Major League Melissa
Find this book
at your local library.
Purchase this book at your favorite used bookstore, such as ABEbooks.com.
back to books
Major League Melissa
  Never Sink Nine series #2
written by Gibbs Davis
Yearling, 1991
ages 7 to 10, ISBN 978-0553158663

The Never Sink Nine is getting ready to play the biggest,  baddest team in the league. But when Melissa’s toy horse collection is stolen, she’s too upset to play. Can Walter help her find the horses in time for their first real game?

  Each book features a different team member (boy or girl), and a game. Teammates on and off-the-field, the Never Sink Nine deal with school, family life, and sportsmanship.  
  “The second title in a baseball series for readers who are starting to enjoy chapter books. Walter is concerned about losing the game to the Drill Team. For his lucky charm, he relies on his new Babe Ruth wristwatch. The coed team exhibits typical boy-girl arguing during practice. It is not until Melissa loses her toy horse collection—her prize possession—that Walter begins to realize that they both have something in common and that they all should pull together as a team. Davis shows fine character development. Melissa is equally as talented as any boy on the team. Words and paragraphs are simple, yet a step above an easy reader. The solution to the mystery will not be readily apparent to young readers and will keep their interest to the end.”  
  “This short novel for young readers gets rid of stereotypes – girls can be star pitchers, big brothers can strike out.”  
Copyright 2013– Kathryn Gibbs Davis. All rights reserved. Privacy policy. Site designed by Winding Oak.